The Old Stall Hokkien Street Famous Hokkien Prawn Noodle

$5 Prawn & Pork Rib Noodles

$5 Prawn & Pork Rib Noodles

The Old Stall Hokkien Street Famous Hokkien Prawn Noodle has gradually made its way onto my favorites list, at first mainly out of convenience. In fact, the only reason why I hadn’t written about them sooner is the sheer unphotogenic nature of the dish – as pictured above – but it doesn’t impact the integrity of the food!

The stall I most regularly frequent is located at Hong Lim Market & Food Center, due to my family’s love for the Bak Chor Mee stall in the same complex. As much as I love myself a good bowl of Bak Chor Mee, I still find myself gravitating towards the brightly lit red and yellow facade of the Old Stall Prawn Noodles.

I first tried the dish out of impatience and curiosity, after a thorough wander of the food center and lack of determination to wait in line for 20 minutes for a bowl of Bak Chor Mee. I must admit the word “famous” sparked my interest, and succumbed to one of the most basic advertising techniques in existence. Whilst waiting in line, my attention was drawn to the numerous photos advertising their speciality homemade chili powder. This garnered more excitement than I’d like to admit, and I ordered their standard Prawn and Pork Rib Noodle Soup.

This dish was slightly different to many of the other Singaporean style prawn noodle dishes I’ve sampled in my short lifetime. Tasty, but different. The soup was slightly cloudier and lighter in color than usual, and was pleasantly tangy which contrasted well with the flavor of the chili powder (which is good in itself, by the way) creating a pleasant and unique aftertaste. The well-made yellow noodles were accompanied by some chinese greens for the extra crunch. Although I’ve noticed the quality of prawns can be inconsistent, they’re usually on the smaller side, yet still somewhat sweet and crunchy. The ribs were fairly chewy but still tender enough to fall straight off the bone, with a very peppery flavor comparable to some of our local Bak Kut Teh stalls.

Overall, Old Stall prawn noodles are a nice change to the regular Singapore style prawn noodles that I tend to go for. It took a couple of bowls before it truly grew on me, but definitely worth a try.

Rating:
Soup: 4/5
Noodles: 4/5
Prawn: 3/5
Ribs: 4/5
Value for money: 4/5
Overall: 4/5

The Old Stall Hokien St Famous Hokkien Mee 
Hong Lim Complex
531A Upper Cross Street #02-68
98539630
9am to 5pm, closed on Thursdays

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

